Board of Directors

United Way is an independent, separately incorporated organization, run by a local Board of Directors who decide all policies and procedures.


Laurie A. Morris – UnitedHealthcarePresident

Christopher T. Corallo – Mid-Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union, Vice Chair Resource Development

Edward G. Ortlieb – Central HudsonTreasurer

Board Members:

Kate C. Cook – Ulster County Department of Social Services

Robert Curran - Community Volunteer

Sean J. Denvir – Ryan, Roach, & Ryan, LLP

Darlene Donofrio – HealthAlliance of the Hudson Valley

Paul R. Edlund – Community Volunteer

Anne F. Kelly - Community Volunteer

Patrick Mason – Hudson Valley Federal Credit Union

Nina A. Postupack – Ulster County

Ann Marie Swenson – Rondout Savings Bank

Melissa Terpening – Ulster Federal Credit Union

MaryRose Warcholak – Ulster Savings Bank

3 years; maximum of two consecutive terms.


  • Attend all regular Board meetings and workshops. In the event of a conflict, contact the United Way office for an excused absence.
  • Actively participate on at least one permanent board or allocations committee.
  • Participate in the United Way fundraising campaign in some capacity.
  • Understand the goals of United Way of Ulster County; be willing to articulate them in the community; serve as a “door opener” in the community to facilitate essential contacts.
  • Be a public relations agent of the United Way in the community. Seek out comments from community leaders and discuss views. Discuss further with President or Board Chair if appropriate.
  • Be aware of United Way accomplishments and activities so that positive news can be disseminated throughout the community.
  • Make a financial contribution to the United Way campaign.
  • Attend Board Orientation.
  • Attend United Way special events whenever possible.
  • To adhere to the Code of Ethics, which includes the requirement that any Board member with concurrent membership on a board of a United Way funded agency excuse her/himself from participation in discussions related to said agency.